About Council of Border Municipalities in the North

The Council of Border Municipalities in the North works for better cooperation across borders on the local level, between municipalities and people to people. Focus is on improvement of life quality in the northern territory. The Council has an action plan which is updated annually. The present one has focus on culture, tourism, education, youth and sports. The Council also works on promoting transport connections, easier border crossings and inter-municipal cooperation.

The council consist of 15 municipalities. 

Finland : Enontekiö, Inari, Utsjoki, Sodankylä
Norway: Karasjok, Kautokeino, Nesseby, Porsanger, Sør-Varanger, Tana
Russia:   Kola District, Lovozero DistrictNikel City, Pechenga District,
Sweden: Kiruna


Legal status:

The Council is organised as an association and is registered in the state registry in Finland.